filmgeekwatching

A great WordPress.com site

An appericatetion to Rushmore (1998)

“You’ve gotta find something you love and do it for the rest of your life”

20130926-122925.jpg

Living in Singapore, we are reaping the kids to be successful n climb up the social ladder. However there are some people who are not so.

Incase you are wondering why I decided to talk about this film. I just finished attending my grad ceremony. While I am happy that I have qualifications of these stuff,I can see elements of Rushmore in me. I would to talk my love of this film.

As you guys know I am in love with Wes Anderson’s films. I considered my second film god to David Lean. It’s quirky n textured wo
Story goes on high achieving Max Fischer who is recently expelled from school suddenly falling in love with Ms Cross and making friends with Herman Blume.

Sounds a little bit aloof and at most surreal ? However I will try to convince u guys that inside it’s the heart we can relate. I would be highlighting this point
through out this post.

First I would like to highlight Wes Anderson’s brilliant use of music. I always like Wes Anderson’s eccentric choices. Here it was soundtracked to the British Invasion bands (those who are unaware in music-it was a period where British bands are big in the 60’s). If I have pick out my fave music moments from Rushmore-
The quick one who gets away-The Who
Ubtiqously one of the most fun revenge sequences n interestingly he chose the second half of the song. In addition the acting of Bill Murray was amazing

Making time-Creation
How to show off Max’s abilities in Rushmore by a pretty badass montage? Plus the song was catchy.

Ooh la la-The Faces
This ending,it was a nice way to tie the loose ends of Rushmore. Plus the melancholic air of tht song fits so well. I did listened to the Criterion collection commentary of Rushmore,apparently it was pretty sad.

Recently I have a soft spot for The Wind by Cat Stevens for its quietness amidst the noisiness of the British Invasion bands n Here Comes my Baby is pretty cute.

Secondly it was the production design of it,which will president the next few films here. I particularly like the husband’s bedroom to show the trapped nature of Ms Cross.

However you can have great visuals n a kickass soundtrack. I always feel that the narrative must be strong in order to connect the audience. While some of Wes’ films feel a bit on the aloof side,Rushmore is perhaps the most relatable films among Wes’s filmography (along with Darjeeling). How many films can u totally relate to.

Perhaps max is my spirit animal I do notice my gestures is like him and so.. I watched these films when I faced a crisis n it reassured that I would be fine.

Perhaps one of those films I loved..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

