filmgeekwatching

A great WordPress.com site

To Sir Peter O’Toole

I apologise for not been in the updating mode,because I have a bad case of the writer’s block for my Shallow Grave post and stuff.

Those who are following my blog will know that one of my favourite films was David Lean’s Lawrence of Arabia to the point I wrote an appreciation for that film. This film just simply deepen my love for it alongside Julie Taymor’s Across The Universe.

I am really upset when I heard that he will retire from acting for good from lots of upset Peter O’Toole Tumblr fans. First I was quite in a disbelief,then slowly as I ranted it out to a friend of mine (yes he is absolutely upset about that news too). I grew to be extremely upset as if a legend just passed away for good to the point I could not sleep. It just dawned to me what sheer amount of talent he have at a young age when he played that flamboyant T.E Lawrence. As I wrote a mini post to my Lawrence of Arabia tumblr blog,it was difficult to express my shock over that news,so I recalled that scene that sealed my fate and love to that film “He have this charisma that electrify the entire audience. I remember that haunting scream “No Prisoners! No Prisoners!” that sealed my fate to that film. It was so frighting even when I watched for the second-it was these eyes that shook me to the core.”

I remember that I was delighted that he was in The Last Emperor and I extremely enjoyed his performance as Puiyi’s English tutor Mr Johnston because he played it with such class and dleight that it evoked me back to LoA again. That film was the first one I watch at the big screen and he was no less amazing.

Even in his lesser known roles like The King in Stardust (2007) or the critic Anton Ego in Ratatouille,he still shines at his roles beautifully. He is such a talent.

Yes there is some hope for actors that lift our ‘Acting’ status in Hollywood or anywhere else like Robert De Niro in Taxi Driver,Tony Leung and Maggie Cheung in Wong Kar Wai’s films,Robert Downey Jr who made his comeback after his drug bust in the 1990’s with his fun performance in Iron Man. My cinephile buddy said that  Michael Fassbender is the new rising star for the film industry with such raw talent seen in Shame and Hunger. Yes there is hope in humanity for promising actors but they will never ever reach that standard Sir O’Toole have established. Never. He would be greatly missed for me for his acting and made me want to re-watch Lawrence of Arabia and his filmography to see such a great actor in work.

So farewell Peter O’Toole,I hope that someday that I would meet you,this legend and I would thank you for making me appreciate the beauty of film.

Image

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

